Observational and Constructed Images

As part of our Constructed Photography module we were to pick one of the following themes and take an observational, reportage picture that represents the story AND construct a picture that represents the story:

•The Campus

•The City Centre

•Primark

I chose the City Centre for the location of my Observational and Constructed images.

Observational

IMG_4132

This is the observational photograph I took for this task. The fact I was stood at the top of a tall building overlooking Leeds represents myself almost observing the city. I think the use of a slow shutter speed makes this photograph effective because it exhibits the people of Leeds going about their daily lives as I observe from a distance. This image is classed as being observational because it was not set up, the only person aware of this photograph being taken was myself.

Constructed

522336_10152252720965599_113326573_n

This is the constructed photograph I took for this task. I asked somebody at Leeds Market if I could take their picture, intending to show the hustle and bustle around them. They accepted, I took the photograph and was on my way. Later upon review of my images I realised the irony of the woman standing underneath a sign advertising hats, since she is wearing one herself. This was completely unintentional yet I think the photograph works well as a constructed image because although set up it still tells a story.

Leave a comment